Coverboy: Joseph

Politico Rising

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on February 11, 2013, 11:41pm | Comments

Some Washingtonians have been bitten by the political bug. Joseph, however, hasn't just been bitten – he's spiking a 105-degree fever. Since graduating from Gallaudet University with a degree in government, this 26-year-old has interned for Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa) and at the Obama White House, has participated in AmeriCorps, and has plans to run for political office someday. Born in South Korea and adopted by an Iowa couple at age 5, Joseph grew up on a farm with 14 siblings. Those clear night skies may be responsible for his huge interest in space exploration. He'd also like to explore starting a family of his own. In the meantime, he catches up with ''chosen family'' at Nellie's and Cobalt.

What's on your nightstand?
I prefer not to answer that.

Coverboy: Joseph

Coverboy: Joseph

What are your television favorites?
Family Guy, Bob's Burgers, Law and Order: SVU and America's Funniest Home Videos.

Who's your greatest influence?
Tom Harkin. He's not only been an advocate for people with disabilities, but he's voted his conscience, what he thinks is right. Since I've been able to vote, I've voted for him.

What's your greatest fear?
Failure. I know it's a part of our daily lives, but I still fear failure, the feeling of disappointment.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Chelsea Clinton. I love the Clinton family. I would love to meet an astronaut – I've got several that come to mind – probably Buzz Aldrin. My grandfather, John. I met him very briefly. He was a doctor, and part of World War II rescue efforts.

What would you serve?
I would cook Korean food.

Coverboy: Joseph

Coverboy: Joseph

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

How would you describe your dream guy?
Goal-oriented, funny, witty and believes in open communication, honesty, integrity, commitment. I have no personal preference on physical features.

Define good in bed.
I wouldn't mind answering something like that, but I work with the government. And I have plans to run for office someday.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Jackie Chan. I love him.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Mark-Paul Gosselaar from Saved by the Bell.

Who gets on your nerves?
People who are self-centered or don't consider others. People who are not adaptive. People who aren't very receptive or don't listen.

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My space suit. I have one I'm very attached to. Maybe some photos of President Obama.

Coverboy: Joseph

Coverboy: Joseph

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your biggest turn-on?
A person who's willing to learn and open to new exposures. Somebody who's very outgoing.

What's your biggest turn-off?
Somebody who doesn't see life. I notice in the gay community, it can be all about the hookup. I want companionship. So that ''hookup mentality'' is a turn-off to me.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
I'd like the opportunity to orbit the earth.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
I'm not going to an inauguration again. It was crowded and cold. I'll settle for watching it on TV.

What's your favorite website?
Politico's website. I'm also a fan of Twitter.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
The position I see myself in is third base. It's one of the most exciting positions.

What's your favorite retail store?
H&M.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?
$33.

What about on shoes?
$100.

Coverboy: Joseph

Coverboy: Joseph

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
French fries with ketchup. It was the first food I ever ate in America, and I've loved it ever since.

What's your favorite season?
Summer, definitely. I was born in August. I'm a summer baby.

What kind of animal would you be?
A dolphin. They're flirtatious, protective, playful and friendly. I also love the water.

What kind of plant would you be?
The bonsai. It requires a lot of care and maintenance, a lot of sunlight and water.

What kind of car would you be?
I like the classic cars. The Volkswagen bus or a classic convertible.

What are you most grateful for?
God, my family, friends and mentors.

What's something you want more of?
Three-day weekends. I work hard during the week, and then Saturday and Sunday pass and the weekend is gone.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Don't limit yourself beyond yourself.


Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace