Coverboy: Jesse

The ''Try Anything'' Traveler

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on August 23, 2013, 12:06am | Comments

If you like traveling abroad, you'll want Jesse by your side. The 22-year-old Woodbridge, Va., native and University of South Carolina graduate is always on the move, either for work as a part-time defense contractor or for fun. And he's always eager to get a new stamp in his passport. Due to his travel schedule, he doesn't have a regular bar to call his favorite hangout, but he'll have plenty of time to find one when he moves to Columbia Heights next month. When he's not grabbing a drink at Nellie's or attending a house party, Jesse loves to cook, work out and do yoga.

What's on your nightstand?
A big, beautiful book of architecture, a Playboy from March 1991 and an orchid.

Coverboy: Jesse

Coverboy: Jesse

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

Why the Playboy?
I was exploring an antique shop, found some Playboys, and thought it would be cool to have an issue from the month and year that I was born.

So are you a Pisces or an Aries?
I'm a Pisces.

That's supposed to make you adaptable.
Yeah, I am. I'm super adaptable. That's actually something I like about myself.

What's in your nightstand drawer?
A lot of dust.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
In convenient spots all around the house.

What are your television favorites?
I usually don't watch TV, but I just finished watching Orange Is the New Black, and now I'm dying to see the new season. I also watch a lot of National Geographic documentaries.

Coverboy: Jesse

Coverboy: Jesse

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
Scooby-Doo. But I never really liked cartoons. I've always been very old for my age.

Who's your greatest influence?
I influence myself. I'm an individual.

What's your greatest fear?
I'm not really afraid of anything.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Jesus; Siddhartha Gautama, the Buddha; and myself. I think that'd be fascinating, to see a physical version of yourself from another person's perspective.

What would you serve?
Lots and lots of Champagne.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Confident and intelligent, but looks a little stupid.

Define good in bed.
Confident and adventurous?

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Me, obviously.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Nick Carter. Actually, all of the Backstreet Boys. I like the blond hair.

Who gets on your nerves?
Somebody who can't appreciate another person's perspective.

Coverboy: Jesse

Coverboy: Jesse

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My dog and my phone.

What's your biggest turn-on?
Confidence, but not arrogance.

What's your biggest turn-off?
Bitchiness.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
Skydiving over the ocean in some tropical destination. Or flying a plane.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
I don't know. Some terrible food or something. I'm pretty positive about life.

Boxers, briefs or other?
Depends on the occasion.

Who's your favorite musical artist?
At the moment, Lana Del Ray, but I like everything from reggae to opera.

What's your favorite website?
Tumblr.

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
None of your damn business!

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Probably third baseman, because I have a strong arm and I'm not afraid to take risks.

Coverboy: Jesse

Coverboy: Jesse

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your favorite retail store?
Barneys.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?
$60 with Nicole at the Barber of Hell's Bottom. She's totally worth it.

What about on shoes?
Two words: Lanvin high-tops. I'll let you do the research.

Aren't you worried they'll get destroyed?
I wore them once to this rave in this dirty warehouse, and they came out all black. They used to be suede, but now they're totally ruined. But on the other hand, I like that worn, grungy look.

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
I really like to try new things. If I can't pronounce the name, that's even better.

What's your favorite season?
The transitional period between summer and fall.

What kind of animal would you be?
A two-toed sloth, because they have the most relaxed lifestyle.

What kind of plant would you be?
A Venus flytrap.

What kind of car would you be?
A Tesla, because they are stylish, but environmentally conscious.

What are you most grateful for?
Being educated and well-traveled.

What's something you want more of?
Stamps in my passport.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Do you.


Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace